Best of, #26. Fishtales

Number 26 folks: Fishtales. Coming to you off of a Aesop’s second B-side album. This song is one of Aes’s straight forward stories. My buddy would kill me if he saw it on this list, but this isn’t his list. If you like this kind of rapping from him, he has two other similar songs that I can think of off the top of my head: No Regrets and Ruby ‘81, both of which are fantastic and also both of which will not appear on my list. It isn’t that they aren’t good, they are. It is just that I don’t think that they embody the things that make an Aesop song an Aesop song. If I were making a top 30 story telling rap songs (with 'dance with the devil’ at #1, obviously), maybe they would be on it. I thought I would put one of these type’s of songs on the list for all the experienced listeners who are looking to get the whole Aesop experience. The dude has a lot of talent, enough to where I think he could be more popular if he wanted. But he has a vision of what he wants to be and tries to make that vision a reality. It may be at the cost of more listeners, but he does so in the name of merit. And I’m glad he does. Nonetheless a change of pace is never a bad thing, and by coming out with songs like these Aesop really shows his versatility.

Here are some of my favorite lines:

Slept in a city that kissed the seashore, woke with a bait and tackle store trip each morn. Not a bother not a lot to say, that is until you ask about the one that got a w-w-w-way.

Pale blue moon or fiery orange glow, red sky at dawn or rain, hail, sleet, snow. Black storm cloud with the barometric horrors, the weatherproof sportsman spins yards regardless. Laugh if you wanna but the dude ain’t stupid. Let it roll off his back like drizzle off plumage. Because he woke with a twinkle in his eye, like every dog has his day and today is m-m-m-mine.

Get yours today people.

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

Best of, #28. Coffee

After a long delay, I present #28. Coffee. This song is the (sort of) final track on Aesop’s fifth album titled ‘None Shall Pass’ released in the summer of ‘07 and features John Darnielle from the Mountain Goats. The fact that Aesop and... Continue →